Tuesday, 22 June 2010

Harlequin Authors Part V

Nearly three quarters (186 of 258) of the authors Harlequin Books published between 1949 and 1959 were single title authors. Here are three, two crime/thriller and one historical.

Maelstrom by Howard Hunt (1918 - 2007) was first published in 1948 (New York: Farrar, Straus). Better known as the convicted Watergate conspirator Maelstrom is Hunt's fourth of nearly 80 novels. It was retitled as Cruel Is the Night (New York: Berkley, 1959).

Harlequin 3 - June 1949

Harlequin 3 back

Robert H. Leitfred's Murder Is My Racket was first published as Death Cancels the Evidence (New York: Green Circle, 1938). Leitfred wrote for the pulps in the 1920s and 1930s.

Harlequin 174 - June 1952

Harlequin 174 back

Alexander Key (1904 - 1979) is best known as the author of children's books (e.g.: Escape from Witch Mountain) and as an illustrator of books. His one book for Harlequin is Island of Escape (Indianapolis: Bobbs-Merrill, 1950 as Light Island).

Harlequin 237 - July 1953

Harlequin 237 back

No comments:

Post a Comment