Wednesday, 4 November 2009

Collins White Circle Authors - Part I - Snow and Cheyney

Wm. Collins Sons & Co. Canada Ltd. published 429 titles in their White Circle (WC) imprint from 1942 to 1952. One-hundred and fifty-three authors were published with the top two authors having 55 (13%) of the titles. The number one author had the distinction of not having his name appear on any of the books. Charles Horace Snow (1877-1967) wrote over 400 books and used four pseudonyms for his 31 WC westerns, of a total of 43 westerns published by Collins. Below is an example of each.

Number two with 24 was mystery writer Peter Cheyney. Cheyney's White Circles were published throughout the run, every year from 1942 until 1952. Below is a selection of Cheyney's titles highlighting changes in cover design.





No comments:

Post a Comment